3:10 to Yuma (1957)

310toyuma1957

Western starring Glenn Ford
-Year: 1957
-Country: USA
-Who in clothing:  Mark 10, Mathew 13, others
-Available on DVD: yes
-B&W or color: b&w
-I own: yes
-Clothing occurence: low
-Rating: 6/10
-Rating: ******
-Comment: Jerry Hartleben (Mark, on right) and Barry Curtis in different non-jeans pants. Also both riding (separate horses) and descending but nothing much to see here. Also some other, mainly younger kids including one boy in dark jeans but very young (about 6 or 7 yo ?, also rear view, but thin.)

The first entry for this famous classic. First I’ve seen the beginning of the 2007 remake starring Logan Lerman (coming here soon, also see my bedroom blog rating 3). No notable bedroom scenes in the classic.

The movie isn’t that bad, but I have expected a bit more. Probably I have seen it earlier but didn’t remember, so I bought it. About 2 longer scenes with the brothers. First riding, walking and standing, later inside the house eating at a table. One good close up of Mark’s face and good front view of both standing earlier (also close up). But I prefer jeans and of course overalls. Interesting chequered tweed pants of Mark.  But he’s thin and appearing even much younger than 10. His older film brother looking more like a cowboy with his hat.

Nominated for a BAFTA Award. Also starring Van Heflin.

I own the DVD which is 16:9 widesceen, has the usual main languages and several subtitles. No extras. There’s also a BD but I can’t say much more about it. The image quality of the DVD is very good.

Update: Compared to other movies I think I have to give a righer rating. Good movie. Handsome boys especially Hartleben. Now rating 6 instead of 4.

Leave a Reply

