The Wild Country (1970)

wildcountry1970

Disney film
-Year: 1970
-Country: USA
-Who in clothing: Virgil 15, Andrew 10
-Available on DVD: yes
-B&W or color: color
-I own: no
-Clothing occurence: often ?
-Rating: 4/10 ?
-Rating: ****
-Comment: Ron aka Ronny Howard (Virgil, on left) and his younger brother Clint in different clothes. They are wearing vests and different hats. Clint wears black pants with wide suspenders, his brother brown pants without suspenders and even a tie doesn’t look like western-style. Also starring their dad in real life Rance. At least Ron is riding.

One of the few Disney westerns although rather an adventure and ranch family movie loosely based on the 1950 autobiographical novel “Little Britches: Father And I Were Ranchers” by Ralph Moody” which is set between 1906 and 1910. I even bought the sequel novel “The Home Ranch” (not the first one as it doesn’t have scenes with bib overalls, also see my other blog, tagged book). The movie is set in the 1880s.

I don’t remember the complete movie and so I have to recheck it. I like actor Ron Howard but mainly his ealier movies and series. Rascal also have an early 1900s setting but not western-like, (but showing him in bib overalls).

More Disney westerns coming soon.

Rating 4 for now. Somehow I think I won’t like this movie. Is this a real western? Clint is very young and Ron quite old. Looks like a typical Disney movie of it’s time involving animals. Also a good bedroom scene (soon on my other blog).

Leave a Reply

