Der lange Ritt zur Schule

langerittzurschule

DEFA family film
-Year: 1982
-Country: East Germany
-Who in clothing: Alex 10
-Available on DVD: yes
-B&W or color: color
-I own: no
-Clothing occurence: medium
-Rating: 5/10
-Rating: *****
-Comment: Frank Träger in good cowboy clothes including beige chaps, light blue jeans pants and vest and a flat Zorro like hat. Also riding (on own horse as well as together with Gojko Mitic). Also a girl in beige bib overalls (soon on my overalls blog) and cowboy men with chaps. Many other kids at school but not in western clothes. There are scenes in modern setting (like riding in the streets) as well as real western setting like in a saloon. (Day-dreaming)

English title “The Long Ride to School”. Novel by Gerhard Holtz-Baumert.

I found it during research for my Lederhosen blog but heard of it earlier before having this blog. I haven’t seen this complete movie yet. Available as single DVD or on an Icestorm version with another movie.

Looks quite interesting but I think rather few good scenes (?)

Also starring Gojko Mitic who did lots of East German westerns. I wonder why there were westerns allowed in East Germany.

I don’t know how many western scenes there are in here and although I don’t like much East German westerns and East German movies (except for handsome actors or Lederhosen scenes) this one might be one of the few or even the only East German western featuring a kid (even an older blond boy and even with chaps). I have to check it out and hope for a soon broadcasting.

Rating 5-6 for now.

Update: I now have seen the 2nd half of the movie. A bit disappointing. The boy isn’t very handsome as first assumed. The jeans have a black seat pad or patch between the legs. However good plot and quite good and funny western scenes.

I think I can still give rating 5 for this rare movie.

Leave a Reply

